First meeting of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Commission to be held in Tokyo

Members will identify the next steps needed to manage and improve the agreement.

The inaugural meeting of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) Commission will be held in Tokyo, Japan, on January 19, 2019. The commission, comprised of the 11 CPTPP signatory countries, will identify the next steps and ways that businesses can reap the benefits of this landmark agreement.

Canada’s Minister of International Trade Diversification, Jim Carr, will attend the meeting. During his visit, Minister Carr will attend an event hosted by Shinzo Abe, Japan’s Prime Minister, bringing together business and labour union leaders to mark the CPTPP’s entry into force.

“I look forward to working with CPTPP Commission partners to advance Canada’s interests and promote the mutual benefits of the agreement to all our citizens,” said Minister Carr.

The CPTPP is a free trade agreement between Canada and 10 other countries in the Asia-Pacific region: Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

The CPTPP entered into force on December 30, 2018 among the first six countries to ratify the agreement: Canada, Australia, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore. On January 14, 2019, the CPTPP entered into force for Vietnam.